Seven Faceless Saints #1 Seven Faceless Saints M.K. Lobb

Posted April 11, 2024 by jrsbookr in Uncategorized / 1 Comment

by M.k. Lobb
Seven Faceless Saints #1 Seven Faceless Saints  M.K. LobbSeven Faceless Saints Series: Seven faceless saints #1
on February 7, 2023
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy, Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Romance, Young Adult Fiction / Politics & Government, Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Religion & Faith
Pages: 400
Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram
Goodreads

Discover what’s lurking in the shadows in this dark fantasy debut with a murder-mystery twist—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kerri Maniscalco.

In the city of Ombrazia, saints and their disciples rule with terrifying and unjust power, playing favorites while the unfavored struggle to survive.

After her father’s murder at the hands of the Ombrazian military, Rossana Lacertosa is willing to do whatever it takes to dismantle the corrupt system: tapping into her powers as a disciple of Patience, joining the rebellion, and facing the boy who broke her heart. As the youngest captain in the history of Palazzo security, Damian Venturi is expected to be ruthless and strong and to serve the saints with unquestioning devotion. But three years spent fighting in a never-ending war have left him with deeper scars than he wants to admit…and a fear of confronting the girl he left behind.

Now a murderer stalks Ombrazia’s citizens. As the body count climbs, the Palazzo is all too happy to look the other way—that is, until a disciple becomes the newest victim. With every lead turning into a dead end, Damian and Roz must team up to find the killer, even if it means digging up buried emotions. As they dive into the underbelly of Ombrazia, the pair will discover something more sinister—and far less holy. With darkness closing in and time running out, will they be able to save the city from an evil so powerful that it threatens to destroy everything in its path?

Reading Challenges: Beat the backlist

Review:

Sevenfacess Saints is the first in a two-book series that involves a fantasy world with a mysterious murderer. We have a world where characters are disciples of Gods and are protected so fiercely that when a random non-chosen is murdered, no one even notices. But when a favored one is killed, people take notice. I find that to be true in the real world as well. We rarely take notice when a random poor person goes missing, but for someone who splashes across the television that we feel is seen and essential, we take notice and then turn over every rock to find out what happened. The tension between Roz and Damian is felt on every page as they interact and strive to solve the murder mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed that not only is the murder mystery solved, but a new danger, once thought gone, is still active and, in a play on words, causing chaos. Book two is next on my list to finish off this exciting adventure.

About M.k. Lobb

M. K. Lobb is a fantasy writer with a love of all things dark— be it literature, humour, or general aesthetic. She grew up in small-town Canada and now lives by the lake with her partner and their cats. When not reading or writing, she can be found at the gym or contemplating the harsh realities of existence.

Her debut novel, SEVEN FACELESS SAINTS, releases Feb 7, 2023 from Little, Brown. The sequel, DISCIPLES OF CHAOS, is to follow in 2024.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

One response to “Seven Faceless Saints #1 Seven Faceless Saints M.K. Lobb