Broken Web (Shamanborn #2) by Lori M. Lee

Posted May 20, 2021 by jrsbookr in Fantasy / 0 Comments

by Lori M. Lee
Broken Web (Shamanborn #2) by Lori M. LeeBroken Web Published by Page Street Publishing on June 15, 2021
Source: Netgalley Arc
Genres: Action & Adventure, Dark Fantasy, Fantasy, General, Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance, Social Themes, Wizards & Witches, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 384
Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram, Tumblr
Format: ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

The sequel to the hotly-anticipated Forest of Souls, an epic and immersive tale of destiny and sisterhood. Perfect for fans of Susan Dennard, Sara J. Maas, and Netflix’s The Witcher!
The Soulless is free from his centuries-long imprisonment. Now, he lurks in the Dead Wood recovering his strength, while Sirscha and her allies journey east to the shaman empire of Nuvalyn. Everyone believes she is a soulguide—a savior—but Sirscha knows the truth. She’s a monster, a soulrender like the Soulless, and if anyone discovers the truth, she'll be executed.
But there’s nothing Sirscha won’t risk to stop the shaman responsible for the rot that’s killing her best friend. While the Soulless is formidable, like all shamans, his magic must be channeled through a familiar. If Sirscha can discover what—or who—that is, she might be able to cut him off from his power.
With Queen Meilyr bent on destroying the magical kingdoms, Sirscha finds herself caught between a war brewing in the east and the Soulless waiting in the west. She should be trying to unite what peoples she can to face their common enemies, but instead, her hunt for clues about the Soulless leads to a grim discovery, forcing Sirscha to question who her enemies really are.

Reading Challenges: 2021 good reads challenge

Review

I received this ARC as part of Miss Print’s ARC Adoption Program

Broken Web is the sequel to Forest of Souls, where we meet Sirscha and her best friend, Saengo. Sirscha has now set the Soulless free, and the peace between the nations of Thiy is crumbling without Ronnin to keep the deadwood in check. Sirscha has been deemed a soul guide, but she hides the dark secret that she a soul render, which makes her no better than the soulless destroying the world. The broken web is a political-based fantasy, and Sirscha is determined to discover what the empire is hiding. With a brother and sister at odds on best solving the problems plaguing the world, Sirscha is determined to make it right. I am highly invested in how everything plays out in the final book.

 

four-stars

About Lori M. Lee

Lori M. Lee is the author of SF/F novels and short stories. She’s a unicorn admirer, part-time gamer, full-time dreamer, and loves writing about magic, manipulation, and family.

Rating Report
Plot
4
Characters
4
Writing
4.5
Pacing
5
Cover
5
Overall: 4

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply