The School for Good and Evil: The Camelot Years #2 A Crystal of Time by Soman Chainani

Posted January 30, 2023 by jrsbookr in Middle grade / 0 Comments

by Soman Chainani
The School for Good and Evil: The Camelot Years #2 A Crystal of Time by Soman ChainaniThe School for Good and Evil #5: A Crystal of Time Series: Camelot years 2
Published by Harper Collins, HarperCollins on March 5, 2019
Genres: Juvenile Fiction / Fairy Tales & Folklore / General, Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic, Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship
Pages: 640
Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram, Tumblr
Buy on Amazon

In this fifth installment in Soman Chainani’s New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil fantasy series, the past will come back to haunt the present.

A false king has seized Camelot’s throne, sentencing Tedros, the true king, to death. While Agatha, narrowly escapes the same fate, Sophie is caught in King Rhian’s trap. With her wedding to Rhian approaching, she’s forced to play a dangerous game as her friends’ lives hang in the balance.

All the while, King Rhian’s dark plans for Camelot are taking shape. Now the students of the School for Good and Evil must find a way to restore Tedros to the throne before their stories—and the future of the Endless Woods—are rewritten . . . forever.


A Crystal of Time is the 5th book in the School For Good and Evil second book in the Camelot years. We continue to follow Sophie and Agatha in a chaotic ride that keeps you guessing who is good and who is evil. Rhian rules Camelot, and the Twin brother Rhian and the world believe that Rhian is King Arthur’s heir. What unfolds is more clues about Tedros father, Sophie and Agatha are tested again on their friendship, and is this all just more trials for the one true king that will rule Camelot? This series has lots of twists and turns; I think the Author has created a unique world and kept me reading beyond the original series. I am excited to read book six and see who is the one true king.


About Soman Chainani

Soman Chainani’s debut series, THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL, has sold more than 2 million copies, been translated into 29 languages across six continents, and will soon be a major motion picture.

Each of the five books in the series — THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL, A WORLD WITHOUT PRINCES, THE LAST EVER AFTER, QUESTS FOR GLORY, and A CRYSTAL OF TIME — have debuted on the New York Times Bestseller list. Together the books have been on the print and extended lists for more than 35 weeks.

The sixth and final book in the series will be released in 2020.

A graduate of Harvard University and Columbia University’s MFA Film Program, Soman began his career as a screenwriter and director, with his films playing at over 150 film festivals around the world. He has been nominated for the Waterstone Prize for Children’s Literature, been named to the Out100, and also received the $100,000 Shasha Grant and the Sun Valley Writer’s Fellowship, both for debut writers.

Soman lives in New York City.

Rating Report
Overall: 4