Blog Tour One Jar of Magic by Corey Ann Haydu

Posted February 18, 2021 by jrsbookr in Blog tours, Middle grade / 0 Comments

Blog Tour One Jar of Magic by Corey Ann Haydu

by Corey Ann Haydu
Blog Tour One Jar of Magic by Corey Ann HayduOne Jar of Magic Published by HarperCollins Publishers on February 9, 2021
Source: Childrens Book Review Tour
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Social Themes, Physical & Emotional Abuse, Depression & Mental Illness
Pages: 352
Find the Author: Website, Goodreads, Amazon
Format: ARC, Paperback
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

From the critically acclaimed author of Eventown comes a hopeful and empowering tale set in an enchanting world of magic and mysterious family secrets--perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass.
Magic is like a dream. Delightful. Terrifying. Unreal.
Rose Alice Anders is Little Luck. Lucky to be born into the Anders family. Lucky to be just as special and magical as the most revered man in town--her father. The whole town has been waiting for Rose to turn twelve, when she can join them in their annual capturing of magic on New Year's Day and become the person she was born to be.
But when that special day finally comes, Rose barely captures one tiny jar of magic. Now Rose's dad won't talk to her anymore and her friendships have gotten all twisted and wrong. So when Rose hears whispers that there are people who aren't meant for magic at all, she begins to wonder if that's who she belongs with.
Maybe if she's away from all the magic, away from her dad telling her who she's meant to be, who she has to be, Rose can begin to piece together what's truly real in a world full of magic.

Reading Challenges: 2021 good reads challenge

Review

I’ll tell you secret magic can only fix the surface of things. Magic can change what you see, but it can’t change anything deep down. You never know how long it will last; we are more powerful than magic. The truth at the heart of One Jar of Magic that what we possess does not define our roles in life, and we are so much more than one thing. Rose Alice Anders lives in a town where one day a year, they collect magic in jars. Her dad is obsessed with it to the determinate of his family. The jars take up valuable real estate in their home and are the heart of the father’s love for his family. He tells Rose her entire life that she is little luck and will catch as much amazing magic as her father does. By placing this expectation on Rose, she lost the chance to discover who she could be without magic.

One Jar of Magic is an emotional story that centers around an abusive family and a lot of truth buried. It tells a simple story that will echo things that are all too real in our children and even our adult lives. I connected with a story like this one when I was little; Don’t hurt Laurie, who took an abusive family situation and added a story to identify with it. It did the same thing for me that I hope this book will do for others. Give you hope that what you experience and what your told do not define your worth. One Jar of Magic is a story that is needed and should be available to all.

Enter for a chance to win a set of books by Corey Ann Haydu, including One Jar of Magic.

One (1) grand prize winner receives:

  • A hardcover copy of One Jar of Magic

  • A hardcover copy of Eventown

  • A hardcover copy of The Someday Suitcase

  • A hardcover copy of Rules for Stealing Stars

Four (4) winners receive:

  • A hardcover copy of One Jar of Magic

The giveaway begins February 9, 2021, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends March 8, 2021, at 11:59 P.M. MT.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

five-stars

About Corey Ann Haydu

Corey Ann Haydu is the author of Eventown,
The Someday Suitcase, and Rules for Stealing Stars
and four acclaimed books for teens. She grew up in the Boston area, earned her MFA at the New School, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her dog Oscar.

Rating Report
Plot
4.5
Characters
4
Writing
5
Pacing
3.5
Cover
5
Overall: 5

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply