The Cerulean Queen (The Nine Realms #4) by Sarah Kozloff

Posted October 23, 2021 by jrsbookr in Fantasy / 0 Comments

by Sarah Kozloff
The Cerulean Queen (The Nine Realms #4) by Sarah KozloffThe Cerulean Queen Series: The Nine Realms #4
Published by Tom Doherty Associates on April 21, 2020
Source: Netgalley Arc
Genres: Fiction / Coming of Age, Fiction / Fantasy / Action & Adventure, Fiction / Fantasy / Epic
Pages: 512
Find the Author: Website, Blog, Twitter, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram
Format: Ebook Arc
Buy on Amazon

Sarah Kozloff's breathtaking and cinematic epic fantasy series The Nine Realms, which began with A Queen in Hiding, comes to a thrilling conclusion in The Cerulean Queen.

The true queen of Weirandale has returned.

Cerulia has done the impossible and regained the throne. However, she's inherited a council of traitors, a realm in chaos, and a war with Oromondo.

Now a master of her Gift, to return order to her kingdom she will use all she has learned—humility, leadership, compassion, selflessness, and the necessity of ruthlessness.

The Nine Realms Series
#1 A Queen in Hiding
#2 The Queen of Raiders
#3 A Broken Queen
#4 The Cerulean Queen


The Cerulean queens conclude a well-thought-out detailed story that encompasses the life of a fabulous family and queen that lost and fought hard to gain back her throne from a variety of enemies. The nine realms series was released very quickly, and some may think, oh excellent, the story will suffer due to the rush of publication. I did not see that throughout reading the books. I believe each book built very well on the story before and covered a significant amount of the history of the land and the life of Cruellia. The love and devotion of those who served and the creativity of her talent made for an engaging and well-thought-out story.


About Sarah Kozloff

Sarah has spent her life immersed in literature, narrative, and film.

After a degree in English at Dartmouth she worked in film production in NYC. She earned a Ph.D. from an interdisciplinary program at Stanford University, joining the Film Department of Vassar College in 1988. In 2009 she was awarded the William R. Kenan Jr. Endowed Chair.

In 2012, while teaching a senior seminar on American Women Directors, she realized that neither the books nor films of Lord of the Rings could pass the Bechdel Test. That summer, she grabbed her laptop and started imagining a world that awaited the return of the queen.

She didn’t know then that this leap into creative writing would spark a new career. Her epic fantasy quartet, The Nine Realms, was published by TOR on a rapid publications schedule. All four books, A Queen in Hiding, The Queen of Raiders, A Broken Queen, and The Cerulean Queen, came out from January through April 2020.

She lives in the Hudson Valley with her husband and a shifting menagerie of pets, who mistakenly believe they are suitable replacements for grown sons.