Young Adult Book Review: Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky #1) by Rebecca Kim Wells

Posted May 14, 2022 by jrsbookr in Fantasy / 0 Comments

by Rebecca kim wells
Young Adult Book Review: Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky #1) by Rebecca Kim WellsShatter the Sky Series: Shatter the Sky #1
Published by Simon and Schuster on July 30, 2019
Source: Library book
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Coming of Age, Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Epic, Young Adult Fiction / Romance / LGBTQ
Pages: 304
Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram
Format: Hardcover
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

New England Book Award Finalist

“A top-notch dragon story…Both nuanced and real.” —Shelf Awareness (starred review)
“I absolutely devoured it.” —Mackenzi Lee, bestselling author of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue
“Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Renée Ahdieh, and Cindy Pon.” —Saundra Mitchell, author of All the Things We Do in the Dark and editor of YA anthology All Out

A determined young woman sets out to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend by stealing a dragon from the corrupt emperor in this stunning fantasy debut that’s perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren dreams only of sharing a quiet life with her girlfriend Kaia—until the day Kaia is abducted by the Aurati, prophetic agents of the emperor, and forced to join their ranks. Desperate to save her, Maren hatches a plan to steal one of the emperor’s coveted dragons and storm the Aurati stronghold.

If Maren is to have any hope of succeeding, she must become an apprentice to the Aromatory—the emperor’s mysterious dragon trainer. But Maren is unprepared for the dangerous secrets she uncovers: rumors of a lost prince, a brewing rebellion, and a prophecy that threatens to shatter the empire itself. Not to mention the strange dreams she’s been having about a beast deep underground…

With time running out, can Maren survive long enough to rescue Kaia from impending death? Or could it be that Maren is destined for something greater than she could have ever imagined?

Review:

Shatter the Sky was fantastic, a girl whose focus is to rescue her heartmate, steal a dragon, and be on the run with a hidden prince. The relationship between Maren and her heartmate is a main driving point for the plot, but it is just part of the story and is not overwhelming. I am a sucker for Dragon stories, and this one is amazing. The best part is when the dragon egg hatches and reminds us of moments in Dragon Prince’s show.
The plot picks up as we learn many things about the servers and their purpose behind kidnapping Maren’s lady love. The addition of the Sev character was an excellent addition. Keep in mind that this is a debut, so I expect to see an improvement in the world-building and depth of the characters in the sequel.

About Rebecca kim wells

Rebecca Kim Wells writes books full of magic and fury (and often dragons). Her debut novel Shatter the Sky was a New England Book Award finalist, a Bisexual Book Award winner, an ALA Rainbow Book List title, an Indies Introduce title, and a Kids’ Indie Next Pick. She is also the author of Storm the Earth and Briar Girls, published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. She holds a BA in Political Science from UC Berkeley and an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Simmons College. If she were a hobbit, she would undoubtedly be a Took.

Rebecca is represented by Rebecca Podos at the Rees Literary Agency.