Audiobook Review The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising #1) by Kiersten White

Posted December 25, 2021 by jrsbookr in Audibook Review, Fantasy / 0 Comments

Audiobook Review The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising #1) by Kiersten White

by Kiersten White
Audiobook Review The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising #1) by Kiersten WhiteThe Guinevere Deception Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Length: 11 hours
Series: Camelot Rising #1
Published by Random House Children's Books on December 24, 2021
Source: Library Auidobook
Genres: Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 352
Find the Author: Website, Twitter, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram
Format: Audiobook
Buy on Amazon

"Fascinating. . . . Kiersten White has taken the best parts of the Arthurian legend and made them all her own."--Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn series.

A new fantasy series set in the world of Camelot that bestselling author Christina Lauren calls "brilliant," reimagining the Arthurian legend . . . where nothing is as magical and terrifying as a girl.

Princess Guinevere has come to Camelot to wed a stranger: the charismatic King Arthur. With magic clawing at the kingdom's borders, the great wizard Merlin conjured a solution--send in Guinevere to be Arthur's wife . . . and his protector from those who want to see the young king's idyllic city fail. The catch? Guinevere's real name--and her true identity--is a secret. She is a changeling, a girl who has given up everything to protect Camelot.

To keep Arthur safe, Guinevere must navigate a court in which the old--including Arthur's own family--demand things continue as they have been, and the new--those drawn by the dream of Camelot--fight for a better way to live. And always, in the green hearts of forests and the black depths of lakes, magic lies in wait to reclaim the land.

Deadly jousts, duplicitous knights, and forbidden romances are nothing compared to the greatest threat of all: the girl with the long black hair, riding on horseback through the dark woods toward Arthur. Because when your whole existence is a lie, how can you trust even yourself? *THE FIRST BOOK IN THE CAMELOT RISING TRILOGY*

"Fascinating. . . . Kiersten White has taken the best parts of the Arthurian legend and made them all her own." --Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn series

"A rare and enviable mix of impeccable writing, heart-stopping action, lush scenery, and complex, relatable characters . . . brilliant!" --New York Times bestselling author Christina Lauren

"Stunning. . . . will leave every reader hungry for more." --Somaiya Daud, author of the Mirage series


This book started as a two for me as it was prolonged to get to the meat of the story. It’s simple and boring. I read quite a few of this author’s books, expecting a bang out of the gate. Maybe it’s cause I know the Arthur stories and read many of them. The one thing that bumped this story to a four is that it does what many of those do not. It centers on Guinevere and other female characters to almost forget your reading an Arthur retelling.

The story at its heart is a deception story, and our king is all in the know about it. They are small secrets, and then there are big ones. Kirsten White is the master of dark materials, and this one has hints of it, but I feel now that all the groundwork has been laid, the remaining books in this serious will take that hint of darkness, and it was going to splash all over the story.

One novel that you have to wade into. It takes some time to get the groundwork laid, and I am not usually a big fan of these stories. I want the meat, but it paid off to get the groundwork in this case. Now that it has been laid, I am excited to see where the rest of this retelling is going


About Elizabeth Knowelden

Elizabeth Knowelden is an award-winning English actress with credits in theater and television. She has performed at The Theatre Royal Haymarket and as a soprano soloist at the Royal Albert Hall. Elizabeth has received multiple Earphones and Audie Awards for her work as an audiobook narrator, and she is a BBC radio plays company member.

About Kiersten White

Kiersten White is the New York Times bestselling author of the And I Darken trilogy, the Paranormalcy trilogy, Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales, The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein, Slayer, and many other novels. Kiersten lives with her family in San Diego, California