Twin Crowns #1 Twin Crowns Catherine Doyle , Katherine Webber

Posted March 20, 2024 by jrsbookr in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

by Catherine Doyle, Katherine Webber
Twin Crowns #1 Twin Crowns  Catherine Doyle ,  Katherine WebberTwin Crowns Series: Twin Crowns #1
Published by HarperCollins on May 17, 2022
Genres: Young Adult Fiction / Family / Siblings, Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Romance, Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Wizards & Witches, Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Contemporary, Young Adult Fiction / Royalty
Pages: 480
Goodreads

A high-stakes fantasy rom-com about twin princesses separated at birth—one raised as the crown princess, and the other taken as an infant and raised to kidnap her sister, steal the crown, and avenge the parents' murders—the first novel in a new YA duology from bestselling UK authors Catherine Doyle and Katherine Webber. Perfect for fans of The Selection, My Lady Jane, and Caraval.

Wren Greenrock has always known that one day she’d steal her sister’s place on the throne. Trained from birth to return to the palace and avenge her parents’ murder, she’ll do anything to become queen and protect the community of witches who raised her. Or she would, if only a certain guard wasn’t quite so distractingly attractive, and if her reckless magic would stop causing trouble. . . .

Princess Rose Valhart knows that with power comes responsibility—and she won’t let a small matter like waking up in the desert with an extremely impertinent (and very handsome) kidnapper get in the way of her duty. But life outside the palace is wilder and more beautiful than she ever imagined, and the witches she has long feared might turn out to be the family she never had.

But as coronation day looms and each sister strives to claim her birthright, an old enemy becomes increasingly determined that neither will succeed. Who will ultimately rise to power and wear the crown?  

Reading Challenges: Beat the backlist

Review:

In Twin Crowns, you will find
-Witches
-Enemies to lovers
-Forced Proximity
-Overthrowing the evil king
-Twins siblings separated at birth
-Falling for the enemy
-wonderful animals
-desert travel

I enjoyed The Twin Crowns so much. You have a princess who has been raised as the only heir to the throne, but in reality, she has a twin who has been raised to steal her throne and bring the witches back to the world who have been told they are evil. There is a sweet romance on both sides of the sibling’s relationship. One falls for the kidnapper, and one falls for the enemy bodyguard.
I love how the siblings, to start with, see each other as enemies but quickly learn that they were pitted against each other by the king who killed their parents, and they must come together to save the world. The story is told in alternating chapters between the two twins, and I thoroughly enjoyed Rose’s development as she discovers what she has always been told and what is true are two very different things. She grows from the pampered princess into the witch she always meant to be. I am diving into book two soon to see where Rose and Gwen’s stories will go. Will they be united and ruled together? Will one take the throne and the other be an advisor? What about their romantic interests? There is a lot to still be discovered in this series, and I am eager to continue.

About Catherine Doyle

Catherine Doyle grew up in the West of Ireland. She holds a BA in Psychology and an MA in Publishing.

Her award-winning and bestselling middle grade début, The Storm Keeper’s Island is set on the magical island of Arranmore, where her grandparents grew up. The sequel, The Lost Tide Warriors, was published in July 2019, with the third to follow in March 2021. Catherine’s modern re-imagining of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, titled The Miracle on Ebenezer Street, was published by Puffin books in October 2020. She is also the author of the Young Adult Blood for Blood trilogy (Vendetta, Inferno and Mafiosa), which is often described as Romeo and Juliet meets the Godfather.

About Katherine Webber

Katherine Webber was born in Southern California in 1987. She has lived in Hong Kong, Hawaii, and Atlanta. She currently lives in London with her husband, Kevin, and their young daughter. In addition to her YA, Katherine also co-writes young fiction, as Katie Tsang, with Kevin.

Katherine studied Comparative Literature at the University of California, Davis and Chinese literature and language at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. She has worked at an international translation company, a technology startup, and a reading charity. She now writes full time.

She loves an adventure, whether it is found in a book or in real life and has travelled to over 45 countries. Travel, books, and eating out are her favourite indulgences.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: