Havenfall (Havenfall #1) by Sara Holland

Posted March 19, 2021 by jrsbookr in Fantasy / 0 Comments

Havenfall (Havenfall #1) by Sara Holland

by Sara Holland
Havenfall (Havenfall #1) by Sara HollandHavenfall Published by Bloomsbury USA on March 3, 2020
Source: ARC Trade
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Contemporary, Epic, Romance, General, LGBT
Pages: 320
Format: ARC
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

"Vibrant." – Emily A. Duncan, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints
"An enchanting and thrilling contemporary fantasy." – Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely
A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it--at any cost. New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black.
Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds--each with their own magic--together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.
For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering Maddie's brother. It's where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it's where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.
But this summer, the impossible happens--a dead body is found, shattering everything the inn stands for. With Brekken missing, her uncle gravely injured, and a dangerous creature on the loose, Maddie suddenly finds herself responsible for the safety of everyone in Havenfall. She'll do anything to uncover the truth, even if it means working together with an alluring new staffer Taya, who seems to know more than she's letting on. As dark secrets are revealed about the inn itself, one thing becomes clear to Maddie--no one can be trusted, and no one is safe . . .
Sara Holland takes the lush fantasy that captured readers in Everless and Evermore and weaves it into the real world to create a wholly captivating new series where power and peril lurk behind every door.

Review

Havenfall is the type of fantasy that is perfect for enjoying over a weekend. Havenfall is a magical inn that is the neutral zone between other magical realms. Maddie has always dreamed of becoming its innkeeper, and when she sneaks off for one final summer before adulthood, she gets a glimpse of what they may entail, and it not all magic and peace. Havenfall is a portal fantasy, but it also a who done it mystery kind of story. Maddie lost her brother to what she believes is a Solarian, but as this tale unwinds, what she thinks she knows and what is true are very different. They’re a lot to be uncovered in this first book, and I am eager to see where the cliffhanger and truth bombs lead us in the sequel.

 

“Mercenaries secrets trade in magic and souls. Corruption and stolen children. Welcome to Havenfall a neutral magical place. Check out my review of Havenfall by @ Sara__Holland Click To Tweet
five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
5
Characters
4
Writing
5
Pacing
5
Cover
5
Overall: 5


Tags: